AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Newbie to Discus

Registered Member

Default Newbie to Discus

Greetings,
    I just recently retired and got the itch to get back into the aquarium hobby. I used to keep and breed African cichlids many years ago. I was planning to start a large reef aquarium when I came across a planted discus tank. The discus tank was so captivating that I returned my skimmer and started reading about discus.
    My project involves a fish room with a 450 gal display tank c/w 125 gal sump and 2-20 gal spare tanks. I’m in the process of building the fish room now. It’s still in the early stages ie. Electrical plumbing and ventilation going in next month.
    I’m new to discus and would appreciate some guidance on which thread to join for the size tank I’m planning. The ultimate goal is to have 15-20 discus with hundreds of tetras and plants.
    Questions I have are as follows:
    How to develop the tank ie, fish first, plants first or combo of both?
    Clean up crew and other fish compatible with discus?
    Substrate type, thickness required for planted tank
    Should I go rooted plants or simply tied to rocks and wood ?
    Real driftwood or fake?
    Sump components and type of filter merdia?
    Looking forward to learning about this wonderful fish .
    Norb
    Last edited by NP57; 04-02-2019 at 10:28 AM.

Real Name
    Brian

Default Re: Newbie to Discus

Welcome to Simply Discus!! You do have quite a project ahead of you!

When you have a moment, I suggest you take a look at this video http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showth...TCH-THIS-VIDEO!

Also, take a look at the planted tank section. There's lots of info there... http://forum.simplydiscus.com/forumd...s-and-Biotopes

Brian