ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Waterbox 230.6 Blackwater Discus tank build

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Lyle

Default Waterbox 230.6 Blackwater Discus tank build

This will be my first time keeping Discus, and after doing a lot of research, reading, and watching videos, I decided on a blackwater discus tank. I have been keeping fish for more than 20 years and reef tanks for more than 15, so I am not new to aquaria, just Discus. Now onto the build!

After selling my home and moving recently, I knew one of the first things I wanted to do was to purchase my "dream" tank, a Waterbox 230.6. I love the clean lines and the beauty of the LARGE rimless tanks. I ordered the tank and about 10 days later it was sitting in my garage.

20190412_152155 by Lyle Southard, on Flickr

20190412_152211 by Lyle Southard, on Flickr

After getting the tank in thee garage and opening the crate, I immediately started the process of assembling the stand. Unfortunately, this was a bit more difficult than I had hoped, since there did not seem to be any instructions, just a diagram of the parts and a single picture of the stand assembly. After some effort and redoing a couple of parts, I had the stand assembled (no doors on it yet) and in its chosen location. This is when I ran into my first minor complication with the assembly. The stand was missing a few small anchors used for attaching the hinges to the stand. 1 email later and the parts were on their way from Waterbox.

20190408_220511 by Lyle Southard, on Flickr

20190412_151950 by Lyle Southard, on Flickr