ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: 500 Gallon project, Dreaming of keeping Discus but afraid!

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Maged

Default 500 Gallon project, Dreaming of keeping Discus but afraid!

Hello Everyone

I am in the process if building my dream setup which will be an in-wall 500 Gallon tank viewable from both sides, below are some pictures for the work in progress and full setup design, I will not have any live plants in this tank, I will have a white sand substrate with rocks and driftwood only.

I have successfully kept African Cichlids before for few years in my old and smaller tank, this is my first time going for such large setup. I have been dreaming to keep Discus but I'm always afraid to do so because I'v been warned on how it is very complicated to keep them and how sensitive they are.

Now with my new setup, I really want to make it a Discus Tank, kindly let me know your feedback on the setup and what I need to know/do to keep this wonderful fish.

Full_Setup_Design.jpgFish_Tank_4.jpg

Real Name
    Patty

Default Re: 500 Gallon project, Dreaming of keeping Discus but afraid!

Wowie Mowie, that’s a huge tank! I love the planned aqua scape. How big is your sump and how much water can you hold in storage under the tank? I’m no expert in these areas, just nosy. Ha ha
    Patty
    If the discus are happy, I’m happy

Real Name
    Brian

Very nice project and goals you have going on! Please keep us updated as you proceed!!!

You might find this thread to be of interest. It's a similar project... http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showth...0-gallon-build

I'm sure Tobi would be happy to answer any questions you may have...
    Brian
    Last edited by jeep; 05-04-2019 at 10:12 AM.

Real Name
    Mark