ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Happy to be here

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Megan McGuire

Default Happy to be here

Hello everyone!

My name is Megan McGuire and I am new to discus. Several months ago I purchased 8 wild “Novo Airao” Heckel Discus from Jeff Michels (aquaticclarity.com). They have been doing well under my care, so I'm venturing into the world of linebred discus. I have been in the hobby for about 5 years now. I started with the gateway fish, rift lake cichlids, moved on to S. American cichlids, added cory cats to the mix and now finally felt ready for discus.

I ordered 2 of each of these from ChichagoDiscus.com: Red Turquoise, Blue Cobalt discus, Red Pigeon, and Red Panda. They will be joining my Heckels in my 125 gallon. I realize I will be stocked a little heavily at that, but hopefully I'll get some pairs which I will place in their own tanks. I'm very excited about this. The new fish are mostly 5" with one kind being 4.5-5". They will be arriving next week on Wednesday.

Real Name
    Brian

Default Re: Happy to be here

Welcome Megan!! Chicago discus has a great reputation so I'm sure you will be happy! Please post some photos when you have them settled in...

Administrator and MVP Dec.2015 Second Hand Pat's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pat

Hi Megan and welcome to Simply. Any pics of the heckels? You can't go wrong with Chicago Discus!
    Pat
    Your discus are talking to you....are you listening

Real Name
    Filip

Hi and welcome Megan .You had a very interesting and unussual start in discus hobby starting with Heckels to progress to domestics .
    I'm curious did you keep your Heckels on tap water right from the start and at what water parameters you keep them ?

I would advise you to be carefull about mixing discus from different sources and be strict with your Quarantine procedure to minimise the risks of mixing .

I would love to see photos of your tank and Heckels .

Registered Member