AquaticSuppliers.com     Aquatic foods

Results 1 to 6 of 6

Thread: Seachem Prime

  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2016
    Location
    Texas
    Posts
    91
    iTrader
    0
    Real Name
    Ryan

    Default Seachem Prime

    Does Seachem Prime affect the way my API ammonia, nitrite, nitrate test kits work? I'm double dosing prime and getting some unexpected readings. Just curious if prime could alter the readings of the test kits.

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Registered Member slicksta's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Posts
    933
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Seachem Prime

    I think that it can affect 1 solution Ammonia tests but not the 2 solution method from API
    I don't recall it having an affect on the other tests

  3. #3
    Registered Member bluelagoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Halifax,Canada
    Posts
    1,388
    iTrader
    0
    Real Name
    Mervin

    Default Re: Seachem Prime


  4. #4
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    401
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Seachem Prime

    From what I've read, Prime can turn some of the ammonia to ammonium and that can show up as elevated ammonia levels in your tank. It also depends on your ph too. If your tank is under 6.0 ish, you should already have plenty of ammonium. So if you are double dosing, you are creating ammonium, which is about as toxic to fish as nitrates. Also, very good for plants.
    Last edited by gators111; 06-11-2019 at 02:01 PM.

  5. #5
    Silver Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2016
    Location
    Madison WI
    Posts
    265
    iTrader
    0
    Real Name
    James Walker

    Default Re: Seachem Prime

    My understanding is that the complexed hydrosulfite salts of Prime are similar to either this: https://www.sigmaaldrich.com/catalog...g=en&region=US or this: https://www.sigmaaldrich.com/catalog...g=en&region=US ingredients such as these are capable of both reducing chlorine in addition to reacting with ammonia to form a non-toxic adduct.

    The API ammonia test contains bleach which is an oxidizing agent while the hydrosulfite salts of prime are reducing agents. This could make the reading seem lower.

    How do the levels differ from prime treated vs untreated water?

  6. #6
    Registered Member bluelagoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Halifax,Canada
    Posts
    1,388
    iTrader
    0
    Real Name
    Mervin

    Default Re: Seachem Prime

    Quote Originally Posted by guggas View Post
    Does Seachem Prime affect the way my API ammonia, nitrite, nitrate test kits work? I'm double dosing prime and getting some unexpected readings. Just curious if prime could alter the readings of the test kits.

    Thanks
    yes. wait til tomorrow then check it after the water has time to filter though the bacteria to convert the ammonia. Prime in itself does not remove anything, just makes things non toxic.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

pic of month             AquaticSuppliers.com