AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Jack Wattley Reps Advocate 20% WC Weekly?

Registered Member

Default Jack Wattley Reps Advocate 20% WC Weekly?

Hey All,

A couple videos came out on YouTube recently for Jack Wattley Discus. Two separate presenters stated they clean their personal tanks once a week with only a 20% WC.

Now, I'm not one to be dogmatic about WC schedules. I think whatever works for a given person is fine. And these are their personal planted tanks, not the crowded hatchery tanks. But still, 20% once a week seems kind of low to me.

On the other hand, these are long-standing employees of a reputable discus hatchery. I imagine they know what they'e doing.

So I'm curious, what does everyone here on the forum think of this?

Registered Member

Default Re: Jack Wattley Reps Advocate 20% WC Weekly?

I am far from an expert but dont they have better filtration systems.

Administrator and MVP Dec.2015 Second Hand Pat's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pat

Quote Originally Posted by Revan View Post
    Hey All,

A couple videos came out on YouTube recently for Jack Wattley Discus. Two separate presenters stated they clean their personal tanks once a week with only a 20% WC.

Now, I'm not one to be dogmatic about WC schedules. I think whatever works for a given person is fine. And these are their personal planted tanks, not the crowded hatchery tanks. But still, 20% once a week seems kind of low to me.

On the other hand, these are long-standing employees of a reputable discus hatchery. I imagine they know what they'e doing.

So I'm curious, what does everyone here on the forum think of this?
    My personal view of this is show me the fish. The condition of the fish will tell you the truth whether the tank maintenance/feeding schedule is spot on. So don't tell me....show me. Also this could be a selling ploy since the videos are representing Jack Wattley Discus.