AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New member looking for help with research (long)

Default New member looking for help with research (long)

Hi My name is Tammy. I have been in the hobby for about 25 years now with various species. I have been raising discus for over 10 years. We are now looking to begin breeding these beautiful fish.
    I do research into various fish illnesses and do studies on medications and their continued effectiveness or lack thereof. About 7 months ago i lost my female BD. She was mate to my Red cover. I am now doing research and information gathering in order to discover exactly what this is.
    At this time i have consulted with several others who do some research and have contacted an expert in the field. I am trying to get a sample to Florida for analysis but to date have had no success in getting it. Those of us looking into it believe that it could be some form of columnaris.
    Onset is fast and it runs its course in approximately 48 hours. i have 3 visible stages. i will post pictures that show these stages and you will see the difference. If any of you have experienced this or have some idea of what could be causing it please let me know.

Thanks in advance

Tammy
    Attached Images Attached Images

Administrator and MVP Dec.2015 Second Hand Pat's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pat

Default Re: New member looking for help with research (long)

Hi Tammy and welcome to Simply. I am hoping Al will see this.
    Pat
    Your discus are talking to you....are you listening

Hi Tammy,
    Welcome to SimplyDiscus!