ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: White poop, not eating and hiding. Stressed, sick or both?

Registered Member

Default White poop, not eating and hiding. Stressed, sick or both?

Hi all,

I'm a newbie from the UK and have had my tank for three and a half months. I'd appreciate any advice you have to offer.

Set up:

Tank size: 360 litres (95 US gallons)
    Community tank fish: 5 Jaguar Pigeon discus and 5 Red Melon. (Not sure of age but I got them at the end of May at about 3.5-4 inches) Gold and cardinal tetras, flying foxes, German ram pair and plecs.
    Temp: 29.1 degrees (just over 84 degrees I believe)
    Water: High KH and pH about 7.8 (we live in a very hard water area but the local aquariums and fish breeders breed fish that can tolerate this). Recently I noticed some chlorine creeping in but I've now dealt with this.
    Water changes: About 20% daily and 50% every 3-5 days.
    Food: 4-6 meals a day; a variety of frozen Discus friendly foods, with Tetra Prime granules. Tetra colour flakes for the community fish (the Discus tend to leave them) and introduced frozen cooked mussels on advice of breeder two months ago, to tempt smaller Discus to eat

Issues: