ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: New to discus and need help with these spots

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Ed Simpson

Default New to discus and need help with these spots

1 (Medium).jpg2 (Medium).jpg

Hi I am new to discus, I have 5 fish they are eating well show no signs of distress or rubbing.

They are very active and have a good apatite.

I started the tank 4 months ago and added the discus about 6 weeks ago, I had some problem getting them to eat in the first week but that problem is gone, they eat very well now.

There have been no changes or additions to the tank since the discus have been introduced.

Water temp is 85 and I do 2 10% water changes a day with aged water.

The spots are on all the fish only on the body and only a few on each fish, I noticed it last night.

Any help would be appreciated.

Registered Member + MVP danotaylor's Avatar
    Real Name
    Daniel

Default Re: New to discus and need help with these spots

What is your nitrate lvl? If it was white spot they would probably be glancing & rubbing. It looks like discus pimples. A bacterial skin infection related to poor water quality. Given you have a heavily planted tank your water will be difficult to keep clean, especially with such small daily wc's. Do you vacuum the substrate? Planted tanks trap a load of detritus and have high bacterial counts if not we'll maintained. Even if your nitrates are <10, you prob still have a lot of dissolved organics present which are at the root of the problem. Try doing a 50% wc with your aged water for the next week. I'll be the spots will disappear on there own...

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Ed Simpson

My nitrate level was < 5 I do vacuum every 3 to 4 days, I thought the water quality was OK but maybe not.

Only the back 1/3 of the tank is planted and I do not vacuum that.

I will start with the water changes.

Registered Member + MVP danotaylor's Avatar
    Real Name
    Daniel

Sounds good Ed. Keep us posted mate.