AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Eggs not sticking to cone

Registered Member

Default Eggs not sticking to cone

Hi all!

So I've been working with a pair and the female's eggs are not sticking to the cone. About the 3rd or 4th attempt last night and only about 3 or 4 eggs stuck to their cone. It's my first time with a pair of discus and just getting back into the hobby.

I'm stumped. I've done a lot of searching and think that this isn't a unique problem, but the prevailing wisdom seems to be that the female will either figure it out or not. Anyone out there happen to have any suggestions?

I'm doing around 70% water changes each day, feeding a variety of foods, and doing about all I can think of to place them in a position to succeed, but I'll admit I'm at a bit of a loss.

Thanks in advance

Registered Member + MVP danotaylor's Avatar
    Real Name
    Daniel

Default Re: Eggs not sticking to cone

What type of cone is it? I always wondered if a glazed and fired cone with a very slick shiny surface would result in what you're experiencing. Maybe try a different cone or surface for them to lay on.

Registered Member

Quote Originally Posted by danotaylor View Post
    What type of cone is it? I always wondered if a glazed and fired cone with a very slick shiny surface would result in what you're experiencing. Maybe try a different cone or surface for them to lay on.
    Good thinking. This is one of those mass produced terra cotta looking cones without a glaze; rather matte looking to be honest.

I'll get a different cone for their next go 'round. Seems to be about every 13 to 15 days.

Thanks!

Real Name
    Daniel

Hmm, that is weird, I would have thought the matte terracotta would be fine. Do you notice them cleaning the spawning area before they lay? Biofilm on the cone could be the other culprit.
    With 3-4 failure to stick spawns though it's worth trying something different to see what happens.