ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New planted tank getting back into Discus

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Filipe

Default New planted tank getting back into Discus

Hi Everyone, After several years away from discus I've decided to start keeping them again. I currently have a 90 gallon tank that I've been running for a few years but recently tore it down because I had to move it so I decided to design it to be a little more discus friendly. I was finally able to find a local breeder with some fantastic stock. I've been toying with the idea of keeping discus again for some time now and I am really looking forward to be tending to a group of them again.

I'm looking at buying a group of six in the next week or two. I'm going to monitor this tank before I buy the discus in that time. If everything goes well with this tank I'll add the Discus after their QT period I hope to have them in there right around Christmas.

I removed the aquasoil that was in the tank and added fine white sand about 1/4" high. I also decided to keep only the one plant species that I have had success with growing at temps above 80 degrees. The rock scapes are glued together and hopefully will hold up long term. I glued the hell out of these rocks so I can move them to clean under them. I am running co2 but not close to the levels I normally do as I found over the years that Pogostemon helferi doesn't really need much of it to do well. I intend to keep the tank running at 80 degrees.

The tank is currently stocked with

20 cardinal tetra's
    5 Datum Angels
    5 Scalare Angels
    4 Platinum Rams
    1 lonely otto
    6 amano shrimp
    5 nerite snails

The otto and the 5 Scalare angels are on the way out to make room for the Discus. All of these fish are juvenile the larger angels are are about 3in in length the marbled ones younger. The last fish that were introduced to the tanks were the rams about a month ago.