ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lighting suggestion for discus tank

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Filipe

Default Lighting suggestion for discus tank

Hi Everyone, I'm looking for some suggestions and I'm hoping to lean on the experience with those of you that have been or is in a similar situation that I'm in.

I've started up a 90 gallon planted display tank. no soil just 1/4" of white neutral sand as substrate. The tank is up and running and the plan is to introduce a group of 6 adult discus to this tank. The tank is sparsely planted (a least by my standards) and I've taken measures to make this display tank discus friendly.

I am what I consider myself an experienced planted tank hobbyist, I'm by no means an expert but I have a firm grasp on how to keep them and I've learned over the years which plants work for me. But admittedly, I have a limited amount of experience with discus. I have grown a few groups out to adults. I have had success keeping discus in the past however It wasn't without some heartache as I have made mistakes in the past. I've also attempted to keep discus in my planted tanks in the past only to pull them out and give them their own tank months later for one reason or another. This is now my 3rd attempt at running a planted discus tank long term. I believe that this time around I have addressed most of those issues with the exception of lighting.

One of the main challenges I've faced with keeping Discus in a planted tank was lighting. Maybe it was the particular fish I kept or where the tank was placed at home but In both cases in the past I found that the Discus did not like the higher intensity lighting that I normally use. In the past I when this happened I attempted to lower the light intensity. I found they they only calmed down then the light intensity was greatly reduced which of course at that point the plants responded poorly.

Sorry for the rambling I tend to do that.