AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: How to stock discus without causing a mini cycle or aggression

Registered Member

Default How to stock discus without causing a mini cycle or aggression

Thank you for taking the time to read my first post.
    I don't plan to post about every question I have, but I think this is a very basic question that applies to almost anyone setting up a new discus tank and I had a hard time finding any information about this online (maybe I just didn’t look in the right places, but i tried).

I have some experience with some freshwater and saltwater tanks, but this will be my first time with discus (I've done my research). I have a 55 gallon tank with 2 HOB emperor biowheel filters, 400gph and 350gph. My current plan is to get about 20 tetras, 3 corys, and 5 discus (probably 2 inch). I am currently cycling my tank with Dr. Tim's One and Only and ammonia drops.

My question is about the best way to stock the tank once it is fully cycled without causing aggression or an ammonia spike. I know discus have a large bio-load, and in general it's not recommended to increase the bio-load too much at a time because the biological filter won't be able to keep up and it will likely cause at least a partial cycle. But on the other hand, for various reasons (cross-contamination, aggression, pecking order etc.) it seems like most people advise adding all discus at one time. So what's the solution?

It appears to me that there are 2 possibilities.

1. Add the tetras, then the corys, and then all 5 discus once it's very stable. It will probably set off a mini cycle so lots of WCs will probably be necessary until it gets back to normal. Hopefully the fish will survive this stage without too much stress.