AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Water changes

Registered Member

Default Water changes

Hi, I'm new to discus keeping.
    I have had my 90 gal tank running for 3 weeks now. Ph 6.8, no ammonia, nitrite or nitrate spikes, I had 3 guppies, a beta and2 blue rams, put into the tank before I added 2 of my discus( I understand they are schoolers and will add more I'm just doing 2 at a time a will stop at 5 total discus) they have been in the tank for 4 days now eating and exploring. I also have 5 annubius plants in the tank, minimal lighting. I Also feed 3x a day small portions and all my fish eat no problem and clean up after each feeding.
    Now I was just wondering for water change purposes I do it once a week and I'll do about 20 percent change, before I change I check my parameters which are amazing and after which still are amazing, should I be disrupting the water balance so soon if there is no problems?
    Thanks in advance
    Last edited by JustJustin; 01-02-2020 at 07:08 AM.

Default Re: Water changes

How big are your discus? When keeping discus, one should focus on the discus. All else comes second. Most folks advocate at least 50% exchange per day! It's not typical parameters that hinder discus health. Pump lots of good water through them and they will shine.
    My tank - http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?135251-coopers-6x2x2&highlight=

I'm not so experienced but I have very soft water with ph about 7 and the folks here grow better fish with less optimal parameters.
    My tank - http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showthread.php?135251-coopers-6x2x2&highlight=

Oops, posted the last one on the wrong thread. Derp!

Registered Member

About 4-4.5 inch thanks

I change 1/3 of my water once a week whether it needs it or not, and I check my parameters 3 days later, if my parameters are out of line I do another 1/3 water changJeanne

Registered Member

Quote Originally Posted by cooper666 View Post