AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 26 12311 ... LastLast

Thread: Shan's First Discus Journey

Real Name
    Shan

Default Shan's First Discus Journey

Hi everyone! I am Shan and I'm an amateur fish keeper. I've dabbled in community setups, planted tanks, and on the summer of 2019 I came across a buddy of mine who had a couple of gorgeous discus. At the time I didn't know what they were but I was instantly swept away. I just had to have some.

I spent the next few months (August 2019-November 2019) researching and lurking these forums to learn as much as I could before finally starting my project.

I am so excited!

I began with a plan - I wanted to experience raising discus to the best of both mine and their potential. This meant daily 90% PWC and as many feedings I could (at least 4).

With the help of a friend I made through my local aquarium fb group, we made a stand for my brand new 55. I also painted the underbottom a sand color paint and added my touches on the back panel.

81545663_561453858033267_8196745535940460544_n.jpg

77240922_440296836871660_4542950302420041728_n.jpg

81604039_843656422736479_5210686776280088576_n.jpg

I got a 55 aging barrel as well and have been practicing water changes recently. I have 2 powerful 1/6hp and a slightly less powerful aquarium pump to drain water and help with water changes. I have been fishless cycling the tank since early December of 2019 and it seems to be fully cycled!

I recently purchased some manzanita wood and will be adding it to the tank shortly.

78796720_641154729960060_7562927771731623936_n.jpg

I am driving up to Hans this Sunday to get 12-14 juvenile discus with nice round bodies and small eyes.

HYPE! Will post more pictures as I continue to add more to the tank!

Wish me luck!

Default Re: Shan's First Discus Journey

How exciting! It seems that you've done a lot of reading. I'm looking forward to seeing you progress. Have you decided on what strains you want yet?
    Mama Bear