ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: Not the best start !

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Brambo

Default Not the best start !

TL : DR : What to do with this poor orange razorhead ? ( see pics )

Allright. This might be long.

Hi !

I've been keeping fish and aquariums and aquascapes with co2 and nutrients for about 5 years now.
    I know basic water chemics, fish treatment, spotting illnesses, what species go together, food, care, water changes... I'm not a total noob.

That said, i've wanted discus for a very long time, but i waited for the good moment to feel confident in doing this.
    So 1 year ago, i bought 5 Stendker discus fish from local dealer. ( Europe, Belgium, all fish come from Germany Stendker )

I put them in a tank that is 150 x 50 x 50, 7 fish, 12 cm.
    Planted with a lot of substrate, lots of caves, lots of debris, spiderwood and seiryu stones.
    ( ADA amazonia II , layer of + 15 cm )
    Thought i could do it ...
    Looked fine the first couple of weeks ! ...
    Please dont judge me for my mistakes, we all made them and learned from them i guess.

1.jpg
    Can you see that depth of substrate ^^ ?

I maintained a weekly 80 % water change, while feeding them frozen beefheart 2 / 3 times a day.
    Still, thinking this is ok.

Reading my water values, nitrites and nitrate were always low when water changing, i've never had any nitrite peaks or ph crashes.
    So in my mind all was fine.
    ( This still bugs me out why i cant keep discus in a planted tank if nitrites and nitrates are in safe zones.)

Then, after a good month things were going bad.
    One started losing weight and isolating itself in the bushes.
    White poop, long slimy.
    Fin rot started happening, eating the fins away.
    That one passed away after 2 weeks.

I maintained weekly water changes, thinking it was enough. Test strips and test kit showed safe values.
    Other fish were ok-ish, ( as my amateur mind made up off course. )