ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: To discus or not to discus?

Registered Member

Default To discus or not to discus?

I am in the process of setting up another 125 gallon aquarium but not yet committed to stocking. Although I've been keeping tropicals for about 50 years I have NEVER kept discus. So, I spent the last couple of days doing research, and reading books. To say I am confused is an understatement.

It's too late to go "bare bottomed" with the tank because it's already covered in sand, and after hours of washing and placing I'm not about to take it out. Besides, about half say go BB, while others say it doesn't matter.

You have to do a 25% water change AT LEAST twice a week or your fish will die within seconds? Uh huh. In my experience large, well planted, and well balanced tanks do NOT need frequent water changes, and I've no plans to contribute to the ammonia problem by overpopulating, overfeeding, and etc. As a matter of fact I was thinking about maybe 8 juvenile discus, or adults, depending on which "expert" I'm reading, along with about 30 cardinal tetras, cory cats, and a few other odds and ends said to be compatible with the "kings of the aquarium." Plenty of room left for swimming and other Discus fun.

I can deal with keeping the tank at 82-86 degrees, but can't worry every five minutes if my "kings" are going to turn black and go fins down because I've forgotten to feed them ground beef heart a couple of times a week.

Finally, it is true that they are so shy you rarely see them except at feeding time? If I can't see the King how do I know I have a King?

In conclusion my question is to the Discus folk that might haunt this thread: is it worth it and if so what are your thoughts? All comments much appreciated.

Real Name
    Mervin

Default Re: To discus or not to discus?