ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: Aging/Aerating water

Gold Member
    Real Name
    Amanda

Default Aging/Aerating water

Hi Everyone - So in my 125g, I typically do at least a 50% (between 50%-75%) water change daily... Sometimes I will do every other day water changes of 75%, but mostly do daily water changes.

If I purchase an aging barrel, lets say 40-50 gallons and I start aging/aerating that water for 24 hours prior to doing my water change, does this mess with the pH of the water in the barrel at all? Does it change anything at all in that water aside from removing the gas bubbles?

Next, if I take out 70 gallons of water during my water change - add 40-50 gallons back from the aging barrel and then the other 20-30 gallons from my tap, does this defeat the purpose of an aging barrel? Or is adding 20-30 gallons from the tap perfectly fine?

This is my first time looking into it - so any helpful info that you think I should know would be greatly appreciated!

PS- I should also mention that my pH out of the tap is 6.8.
    KH - 2
    GH - 5
    Last edited by Acerrato; 04-16-2020 at 09:11 AM.

Real Name
    Mervin

Default Re: Aging/Aerating water

You should be fine if you age and do some from the tap. Any tank should be able to handle 25-30% WC from the tap. There is still enough O2 in the aerated water. Yes about the PH, depending on your water supply. Pumps make it a lot easier.

Real Name
    Tom

Has there been a problem with the tap water? Best way to check the ph is test before and after. Did you put a air pump(bubbler) in the storage tank?

Gold Member
    Real Name
    Amanda

No issues with the tap! I've just been reading that it's not the best for the fish if I'm doing 75% water changes directly from the tap.. So I was thinking about doing half and half!

Quote Originally Posted by Iminit View Post