AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: Cleanings' a BLEACH

Real Name
    Shan

Default Cleanings' a BLEACH

Alright could use some famous SD wisdom.

This is my first time fully bleach cleaning an empty tank + equipment so bear with me.

Also might I quickly add how much of a pain it was to find bleach during these times. My local home depot has been sold out of bleach 4 hours after they make it to the shelves. Took my almost a week and a half to find enough bleach to clean both my barrel and my tank.

Anyways, I've followed the instructions of the interwebs and used a 1 part bleach to 10 parts water mixture. I put all my equipment in the bare bottom tank, and just started pouring. I think I must have gone through like 15L of bleach. The tank was so cloudy I couldn't see past like 2 inches. I let it soak for a couple of hours.

I then carefully ruined a T shirt by not taking it off during the maintenance. I drained the mixture and let air dry the past few days.

I took every piece of equipment and rinsed it thoroughly, then laid it all out on a towel to also dry.

Oh! I also found something out I might have screwed up the first time not sure how. So the aging barrel I have been using is used, and comes from someone whom I'm not sure what they used it for. It's a 55 white drum that was enclosed all the way around. I had to take a saw to remove the top permanently. So I think maybe it was used for pickles? But not sure. Anyways, my mistake I realized now is that I only used 0.5L or half a bottle of chlorine when I cleaned it the first time. By the off chance it was used for something different than pickles, perhaps I didn't sterilize the barrel prior.

Anyways, I used the strong bleach mixture from my tank and moved it directly to my barrel with a pump and then let it soak in the barrel overnight.

My room now smells like a clean pool

Anyways thanks for reading just wanted to share and perhaps get some critique whether or not I'm sanitizing correctly.