AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Newbie Discus Tank

Registered Member

Default Newbie Discus Tank

Hello! My name is Leigh Ann and I am starting a tank journal here as a total discus newbie. I live in Brazil so acquiring some great specimens shouldn't be a problem. I have been a hobbyist on and off since I was a kid. I've kept everything from reef tanks to nano betta tanks. I've kept planted aquariums of various sizes.

Since I have no previous experience with discus, I've been reading this forum extensively. The introductory video posted in the beginner forum was awesome! I've also been watching videos from the Jack Wattley and Joey DIY Youtube channels.

The tank is NOT set up yet...it's on it's way. Sorry I have no pictures but they'll come. I wanted to start seeking feedback and advice as early as possible. Failure to prepare means preparing for failure! But I do have the dimensions...I work in metric, hope that's okay. I live in a small apartment so space is at a premium..I also have a husband who thinks this tank size is insane. Poor dear, he has no idea!

200 Liter Aquarium (52ish gallons)
    1 meter x 40 cm x 50cm

Decor is going to be biotope-ISH. Basically driftwood, a few botanicals and the thinnest coverage on the bottom of gravel...as close to bare bottom without being bare bottom. It's going to be pretty sparsely decorated with a tint to the water. Some palms in background and a small scatter of leaves in the front. The botanicals are a "maybe". I'm going to run the tank with some cardinal tetras first to see how I can manage the water chemistry with all that going on. If I can maintain stability after a few water changes and feel confident, I will go ahead and add the discus. If not...botanicals are out and it'll just be driftwood, gravel and rooibos tea for tint. I like the idea of some pothos roots dangling in the tank and/or some frogbit floating on the top.