ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: Does Metronidazole cause Discus to excrete too much slime?

Question Does Metronidazole cause Discus to excrete too much slime?

A general question came to my head when I saw my discus excreting too much slime from their body when I dosed metro in the tank. I also increased temp. as in general. I am kind of new to discus keeping. Is this a matter of concern or is it just fine?

Registered Member + MVP danotaylor's Avatar
    Real Name
    Daniel

Default Re: Does Metronidazole cause Discus to excrete too much slime?

I have used metro on discus and never noticed any increase in slime coat production. What brand/dose of metro are you using? What condition are you treating? What did you raise the temp too?

Danotaylor I use 400 mg of metronidazole bought from pharmacy or drug store. I put total of 4 grams into the 75 gallon tank (at 1 gm for 20 gal.) I am treating the whole tank since 3 discus have white poop and getting thin. 1 died few weeks ago from thinning out. Now, 1 discus out of those 3 discus is extremely sick. He is not eating, hiding and breathing fast. I used metro for 2 days now he is coming out and showing interest in food but not eating yet. I am planning for 10 days treatment. They are excreting slime on the 2nd day. I raised the temp. to 32°C/ 90°F.

Administrator and MVP Dec.2015 Second Hand Pat's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pat

Hi OrangeC, when you say excreting slime are they pooping slimy looking poop or shedding their slime coat. If they are shedding their slime coat ease the temp back down to 82 or so.
    Pat
    Your discus are talking to you....are you listening