AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help Please - Rising PH Issue

Registered Member JennaLuvsDiscus's Avatar
    Real Name
    Jenna

Default Help Please - Rising PH Issue

Greetings Everyone!

I’m so happy I found this forum. I am brand new to discus. It’s been my dream for a long time to get into the hobby of the most beautiful aquarium fish in the world. I never had the resources to make it happen until now and my goal is to create the best eco environment they need to thrive for many years. However, I am not good at chemistry and need help please.

My aquarium is 75 gallons. Planted with natural sand over substrate. I have a piece of driftwood and rocks from a fish shop. I’ve been feeding the plants liquid food from Aqua Forest, recommend I do by the fish shop. I’ve been cycling for exactly 5 weeks. Algae bloomed and snails birthed from the plants about 2 weeks in. Water is crystal clear and everything is testing great with the exception of my ph.

My water test kit came with 2 ph measures – low and high

I am only using the water from my R/O faucet that comes out a 6.5ph. My problem is, as soon as that water goes into the aquarium, the ph rises to 7.6 when tested with the ‘low’ tester, and it measures 7.4ph on the ‘high’ tester.

Questions – What is the difference between the high & low tester? What causes the different readings, and which should I trust?

These ph levels have been stable over the 5 weeks, but I’m troubled why it’s rising when it goes into the aquarium and I want to avoid controlling this by adding chemicals if possible. Does anyone know what could be causing the R/O water to rise in ph when it goes into the tank? Should I be concerned?