AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: Discus not eating and reclusive (others have died)

Registered Member

Default Discus not eating and reclusive (others have died)

Problem

1. Please explain the problems with your fish. When did you notice the problems and did anything unusual happen that you think started them?

Sorry in advance for the information dump.

I’m new to discus having previously kept other tropicals. I thought having done research that I would be okay with a planted tank having seen all the other examples around online. I setup a planted tank with injected CO2 and had it set up for about three months before adding discus.

I added 7 discus (8 weeks old) with 19 cardinal tetras that had been added about a month earlier. The discus were added just over a month ago.

They spent a lot of time hiding in and around the aquascape but I was lead to believe that this was not surprising for discus being shy fish especially as juveniles.
    After three weeks I discovered one of the discus dead in the tank that had previously ‘seemed’ fine. It had had an issue with it’s eye so we wondered if it was just one of those things.

A week later having done some more research I worked out that Co2 injection and planted discus tanks wasn’t something I should be messing with right now so I turned that off and pull out most of the aquascape.

While doing this I found another dead discus that had been alive the day before.
    Around this time I decided to gradually move over to an RO water mix in order to get my nitrate level (which was about 30-40ppm) as well as my hardness (16 degrees) down.

Unfortunately i had another discus die which had been struggling for a few days, not eating and hiding at the top corner of the tank and did at one point have some pale poop.
    Before it died I was hoping that it’s hiding was down to stress and hoped that it would improve with the changes I’d implemented. Unfortunately it didn’t.