ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Pigeon blood or non pigeon blood?

Default Pigeon blood or non pigeon blood?

Can anyone tell me which discus strains can have pigeon blood genes and which are non pigeons? Like do red turq have pigeon blood genes, what are snakeskins and leopards..etc.

Thanks in advance!

Real Name
    Tom

Default Re: Pigeon blood or non pigeon blood?

Ok I’m no expert but red turqs were around before the PBs. So no PB in them. Red snakeskin and leopard I think you could have either with or without pb in them.

Registered Member

Quote Originally Posted by Iminit View Post
    Ok I’m no expert but red turqs were around before the PBs. So no PB in them. Red snakeskin and leopard I think you could have either with or without pb in them.
    I am pretty sure while there may have been pigeons before white man settled on Lawn guyland there were no pigeon bloods there. You yourself may have been the first to introduce them to the surrounding waters of the Island itself. Pigeon based discus have many names such as Marlboro, Melon, Tangerine, White Butterfly, Blue Panda, Red/White, Yellow/White, Mercury, Dark Angel, and Golden

Thanks for your replies! I forgot to ask about blue turqs. Are they same as red turqs? And are red turqs safe to cross with blue diamonds and heckels?

Also can you cross blue diamonds with heckels? Sorry for so many questions, discus genetics makes me very excited. I tried reading different forums but it made me even more confused...

Blue Turks have a blue base and Red Turks have a red base. Same with Snake Skins. You are safe crossing any non pigeon to any other non pigeon.
    Mama Bear

Quote Originally Posted by LizStreithorst View Post
    Blue Turks have a blue base and Red Turks have a red base. Same with Snake Skins. You are safe crossing any non pigeon to any other non pigeon.
    Thanks!

Real Name
    Tom