ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: Nitrate Levels in Planted Discus Tank

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Jason

Default Nitrate Levels in Planted Discus Tank

Hey Everyone,

I have 6 4 inch discus in a 75g planted tank. What levels of nitrates do you guys like to keep for a planted discus tank? I'm open to frequent water changes as I'm feeding 4 times a day as their still not fully grown yet - 1 cube of different frozen foods (should I be adding more?). However, I'm not sure how often I should change water due to wanting to keep the plants healthy as well.

I'm currently feeding frozen bloodworms, frozen myosis shrimp, frozen beefheart, and hikari vibra bites. I'm new to discus in a planted tank so curious what nitrate levels are good for plants as well as discus.

Thanks in advance!

Real Name
    Shan

Default Re: Nitrate Levels in Planted Discus Tank

I would keep no more than 20-40ppm nitrates at a time. Good range for plants and not super toxic to discus. If discus show odd behavior, lower it to 10-20ppm. Manage this with water changes and fert dosage of course
    Amateur discuskeeper, Professional doofus

Registered Member + MVP danotaylor's Avatar
    Real Name
    Daniel

At 4" your discus are still in the rapid growth phase. If you want them to reach their growth potential, and maintain good health, your should keep your nitrates <10 at all times. Part of the challenge of growing discus in a planted tank is that the ideal parameters for growing discus are not ideal for growing plants, and vice versa. People walk the line and succeed, but it is definitely easier with adult discus in a planted tank because they are typically more tolerant of higher nitrates, but I would still keep them <20 with adult discus cause they just do better.