ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: Greetings from a hardcore reef aquarist, with a question on discus growout water

Registered Member

Default Greetings from a hardcore reef aquarist, with a question on discus growout water

Hello discus world, thanks in advance to anyone reading this. While we may all be different in many ways, anyone reading this shares a passion for this hobby. My name is John Coppolino and I’ve been an avid hobbyist since I was a child growing up on a lake in Northern New Jersey. I just turned 43, and with the exception of two years studying and living in Ecuador in and just after college in the late 90s (Charles Darwin Research Station in the Galapagos, Universidad San Francisco de Quito, and Tiputini Biodiversity Station in the Amazon), I’ve had my homes filled with aquariums. Since moving back from Ecuador though almost twenty years ago, I’ve only kept saltwater aquariums in my homes. These have grown as our homes have grown, capped off with the 1300 gallon display I put in our “forever home” we built seven years ago. I take pride in my fishkeeping and still have the first clownfish I bought after getting married in 2001. For those interested, check out this thread which shows my saltwater systems through the years…
    http://www.reefcentral.com/forums/sh....php?t=2668064