ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: What did I do wrong!!!! :(

Registered Member

Unhappy What did I do wrong!!!! :(

Firstly I wanted to thank the Simply Discus community for all the great info I have gained already from the forum.

I'm from Australia and this is my first attempt at breeding Discus. It was actually an 'accident' as the parents paired off and laid in the quarantine tank with another thee discus, before I got a chance to move them into my main tank (Leopard and Snakeskin)!

Parents 1.jpgParents 2.jpeg

I was guided by info from the forum, as well as following this: https://www.discusnada.org/breeding-discus/
    As soon as the eggs hatched, I removed the other fish that weren't the parents.
    They were in a 36 Gallon tank, set to 86F, using a large sponge filter, using rain water (with added Prime and Discus Trace) doing at least 50% daily water changes and cleaning out the sponge every second day.
    The wrigglers attached without problems and were growing and then on Day 4 I started feeding 4 times a day with BBS. Everything was going great up until this point. Then I noted the wrigglers feeding on the BBS, getting their orange bellies but that's when problems started and then started dying off/going missing.

I treated the water with Dymax Endoguard and the babies kept dying. The adult male discus was being aggressive to the female, so I wondered if he was eating the babies so I removed them, but they kept dying. By now the fry were ~2 weeks old and I called my local discus shop who advised changing to Tap water as rainwater may be too unstable regarding pH. By now I had 5 fry left. My last fry died 2 days ago; it was nearly 4 weeks old.

Fry 2 small.jpeg

As others have mentioned on the breeding discus thread, it's all pretty demoralising going through this!
    I really wonder what I did wrong and if I have the mental energy to do it again what I could do differently?
    Thank you for your help,
    Regards
    George