AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: Intermediate/ Beginner needs help building 500-650 gallon setup

Registered Member

Default Intermediate/ Beginner needs help building 500-650 gallon setup

I’ll start out and apologize for the novel here but I don’t know where else to turn. I have reached out to a local tank builder and they aren’t familiar with discus. I also emailed Gabe at Jack Wattley as he’s nearby but I think the poor guy is just buried.

I am returning to Discus after a 12 month hiatus. I’m far from an expert but I’m not clueless either. My experience started with a 55 gallon and 1/2 a dozen medium size discus with 2 HOB filters turning the water over nearly 10x an hour and weekly 50% water changes.

Next I had the pleasure of caring for my father’s tank after he passed. It was a work of art. It was an 890 gallon acrylic cylinder with an entire room of filtration. About an 80 gallon wet/dry, a pool filter, UV light, pneumatic system for feeding, a subterranean 250 gallon tank filled by an RO unit for water changes all with a light bio load of 30- 6 inch discus. Maintenance was a breeze and water changes were literally a few switches to flip a couple times a month.

Now I want to straddle the two experiences and get a large tank for myself. A “filter room” is not an option for me so it all probably needs to go under the tank. I realize it will be more work than my Dad’s 890 but I’m hoping I can get close.