ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: My New Discus is sick, please help!!!

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Actually Abdiel is my real name, but my friends call me "Vilo"

Default My New Discus is sick, please help!!!

Attachment 130121Good morning All,

I would appreciate if someone would give me advice as to what to do to bring this Discus back to health.

Let me explain..

I own a 240 gallon tank that has been home for 11 Discus for the past year and a half. Recently I committed the cardinal sin of adding a pair of wild caught Discus to this already establish and pristine tank!

Now, I know I made a big mistake by adding these two fish with my Discus colony without quarantine them, I was going with the premises that since I know the LFS where I purchased them, and I have been keeping an eye on them for the past 3 months and they seemed to be fine, that I concluded quarantine was not necessary, "Big Mistake"[/U].

So, I purchased the 2 wild caught Discus on Friday afternoon, they looked fine. On Sunday Morning I noticed one of them had develop a small white growth on the left side of its head, this was concerning but I decided to monitor it to see if it goes away or if I should reach out for help. That same day, late afternoon I went to check on the fish and noticed that the little white growth had spread into 2 slightly bigger growths, so in my very natural reaction to stress I "freaked out" and started calling everyone I knew in my fish Club asking for advice, that's how landed here, one of the members who knew a member of Simply Discus put us in contact and I was referred to the website and now Im here pleading my case to you all!

Back to my problem...