AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: Is this Alenquer Discus Normal?

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Regina

Default Is this Alenquer Discus Normal?

Hi All~
    I am just learning the Discus Husbandry! I received this guy already in beat up condition). My Alenquer Bully who was a terror in the tank developed some fin rot. Turns out his stress over being a dominator got the better of him.
    So I put him in the hospital tank a few days ago and have dosed him a couple times with salt. He seems to be slowly healing!

*BUT.. that's not what I'm posting about.

I am so very curious as to why his coloring now is completely different! He was ALWAYS so very dark. I have posted pic's. (19A7CB43-6280-457D-A1A9-EB3F6020CA06.jpgI had to stand far away to get the light colored photo so unfortunately its not so easy to see)

After being a day by himself he totally lightened up. Tho if I come close he returns to being quite dark again. I've now watched him fade and darken rapidly back and forth and in-between.

I am wondering what his natural coloring is and if it is the lighter shade then I need to figure out how to best care for him.

So I am questioning if this 4.5 inch discus is better off leading a solitary life??? Is being with other fish just too stressful on him?

I would love/appreciate some input and info as to if this isn't that unusual.
    Thanks so Much! ReginaA6952B3A-4655-47F1-97E1-E8D449E040D4.jpg
    Last edited by sunsetopal; 02-15-2021 at 11:16 PM.

Real Name
    Francis
    Last edited by seanyuki; 02-15-2021 at 11:31 PM.
    Grasshopper
    Francis

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Regina

Default Re: Is this Alenquer Discus Normal?

THanks For rotating the photo's! Any comment Francis??

Real Name
    Francis

IMO try using antibiotics like kanamycin to treat internal bacterial infections. Also add salt 3 Tablespoon per 10 gallons to help to relief stress and fight external infection.