AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Help Identifying things found under the microscope

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Katie T

Default Help Identifying things found under the microscope

I'm new to discus as of last October and have been struggling with keeping them healthy. I've made many mistakes over my first months as a discus keeper but I'm trying to learn and give them the best care I can. After several dealing with several discus that are hiding, not eating, and have white poop I finally bought a microscope to see what I am dealing with. The problem is, I am unsure how to identify what is harmful and what is harmless. Google is not terribly helpful, either.

I just finished treating with Levamisole and I'm hoping to start seeing some improvements.

Today's specimen has little egg like things in it that resemble figure 8's. Can anybody tell me what they are?
    https://katietheringphotography.smug...m4/i-T2PsJZm/A
    https://katietheringphotography.smug.../i-mTxJJmG/buy

If anybody is interested, here is the full gallery of videos I've taken over the past few weeks:
    https://katietheringphotography.smug...deos/n-xw4Wm4/

Any help would be appreciated!

Default Re: Help Identifying things found under the microscope

I see round worms in the first video. They're cigar shaped and you can see their little nasty mouths under greater magnification.
    Mama Bear

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Katie T

Quote Originally Posted by LizStreithorst View Post
    I see round worms in the first video. They're cigar shaped and you can see their little nasty mouths under greater magnification.
    Thank you, Liz! Are you talking about the dark oblong/oval shaped things in this video? Are they the actual worms or the eggs? I just finished three Levamisole treatments. What would you recommend trying next?
    https://katietheringphotography.smug...m4/i-T2PsJZm/A