AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: very sick discus

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Kent

Default very sick discus

Hello, I'm new to Simply Discus. Glad I found you. I have a very sick discus. I'm positive it has an advanced internal infection. Very bloated, white poop, bulging eyes. I've done the Epsom salt, no help. Now I'm on 3rd day of General Trio powder. Water temp is 87 degrees, PH 6.9, all other parameters good. Can this fish be saved from it's advanced condition? I can't get photo to load. Thanks Ksermie

Real Name
    Brian

Default Re: very sick discus

Welcome to Simply Discus! Sorry for your problems. Can you post a photo of this discus?

First off, I would lower the temp to 81-82. Higher temps promote bacteria. General Trio powder has some good meds in it and is a good med, but it's also why I prefer using targeted meds. If this is an internal infection, as I suspect, nitrofurizone is for external issues. Kanamycin alone is recommended for internal.

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Kent

Thanks for the info. I couldn't get a photo to load.

Real Name
    Brian

It's probably too large. I always email the photo to myself and the email program automatically resizes them. You can email to me and I can post if you still have problems. bhwilhite@yahoo.com

Real Name
    Brian

Unfortunately, this one has a bad internal infection and looks pretty bad off. Once the infection spreads this deep then I doubt there's anything that can be done to save it.

If you want to try to save it then I would continue with the General Trio as directed. If you want to euthanize then clove oil is a humane way.

Sorry for the bad news...

sick.jpg

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Kent

I've not encountered the issues that I've had with this group before. I've been learning a lot and wish I'd have found you days ago. I'm not giving up, misplaced hope, maybe.