AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: New to discus keeping but not the hobby.

Registered Member

Default New to discus keeping but not the hobby.

Hi my name is Andrew Watson and I live in Nova Scotia, Canada and I have been keeping fish for over 30 years. I have kept many kinds of cichlids such as Shellies, oscars, severums and African. This is going to be my first swim around the tank with discus keeping. As I said I am very new to this fish only owning them for 4 days I am welcoming the challenge of raising them. I have a 75g planted tank with flourite as the substrate. I have 5 discus ( all about the size of a silver dollar) in this tank a Blue Diamond, a German Wonder, a Pigeon Blood Silver and two Pigeon Blood Discus. I also have 55g community tetra tank and a 140g severum tank. The main diet I am feeding my discus thus far is frozen beef heart ( what they were use to from the store) and Bug Bites pleco sticks. They love to graze on them. I tried some discus pellets, flake food, and blood worms but they showed little interest and I think the blood worms were just to big for them at this time.
    Outside of the hobby and am a huge sports fan but one that is use to disappointment in this area since I support The Cleveland Gaurdians, Cleveland Browns. and the Carolinas Hurricanes. During our Winter months I spend my time curling, too old to play rugby and soccer any more so I leave that for the younger crowd. During the summer I put my Horticultural degree to use landscaping the surrounding area and my free time is tending my own gardens and of course my tanks. I have a lovely wife who is a nurse, God love her, and have two autistic stepchildren which at times makes this household very challenging. My hope is that keeping discus will be easier lol.
    Well enough about me I would just like the thank you for reading and am very much looking forward to learn from this forum and maybe makes some friends along the way.