Pompas Discus     Cafepress Store

Results 1 to 11 of 11

Thread: Help me understand please!!

  1. #1
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    5
    iTrader
    0

    Default Help me understand please!!

    Hi I am currently setting up a tank to put discus in but I am trying to understand my tap water before I do so. I tested my water fresh out of my tap and then I tested it 24 hours later, the pH pretty much stayed the same the chlorine went to 0, the nitrate and nitrite has slightly risen.

    This is where I get confused my gh and kh look to be the same after aging? Gh looks to be about 8d and kh looks to be about 10d .

    I will be doing more testing but if this is correct what would your advice be to improve my water.

    Thank you for all the replies in advanced

  2. #2
    Registered Member D'bunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    98
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Help me understand please!!

    I think you need to learn some basics about water chemistry before you start keeping fish. Otherwise, you're going to become REALLY confused when you start reading all the misinformation there is out there regarding water quality.

    Firstly, you didn't mention your pH reading. As long as your pH is 8.0 or less, your water is perfectly fine as is.

    Secondly, there is only one reason to "age" water and that's to allow dissolved gases to escape. It has absolutely no effect on KH or GH. Unless you have very unusual water, or water that is chlorinated, there is no reason to "age" it.

    If your water has nitrate in it, then the nitrite level might rise after aging, but the nitrate level would fall as a consequence. It's impossible for both to rise in the absence of fish. In any case, neither should be a concern once the nitrifying bacteria reach sufficient numbers.

    One final recommendation: Patience. Don't try to rush things. Just let nature do its thing. Establishing a fully mature aquatic ecosystem requires more than simply "cycling" an aquarium.

  3. #3
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    5
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Help me understand please!!

    Thanks for the reply my pH sits around 7.6-7.8.

  4. #4
    Registered Member D'bunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    98
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Help me understand please!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Chaz91 View Post
    Thanks for the reply my pH sits around 7.6-7.8.
    GH, KH and pH are all fine, no worries there.

    Does your tap water contain chlorine or chloramine?

    What is the Nitrate reading at the tap? What type of test kit are you using to measure pH, A, N2, N3, GH, KH?

    How large is your aquarium?

    What type of filters and filter media are you using? Are your filters installed and running? How long?

  5. #5
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    5
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Help me understand please!!

    I am using the tetra test strips, my tap water had low chlorine but after 24 hours it was down to 0. Tank is 130L, This was just a jug test but I will have a sponge filter for upto 210L .

    Out of the tap-
    Nitrate-25
    Nitrite-0
    Gh-8d
    Kh-10d
    Chlorine-0-0.8

    My tank had a false wall with sponges and a bag of hard things lol don't k ow what they are called sorry.

  6. #6
    Registered Member D'bunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    98
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Help me understand please!!

    Quote Originally Posted by Chaz91 View Post
    I am using the tetra test strips, my tap water had low chlorine but after 24 hours it was down to 0. Tank is 130L, This was just a jug test but I will have a sponge filter for upto 210L .

    Out of the tap-
    Nitrate-25
    Nitrite-0
    Gh-8d
    Kh-10d
    Chlorine-0-0.8

    My tank had a false wall with sponges and a bag of hard things lol don't k ow what they are called sorry.
    I don't mean to burst your bubble, but that tank is too small for keeping Discus. You could try a pair of Apistogrammas, Blue Rams, or some dwarf Gouramis. That tank isn't suitable for anything larger.

  7. #7
    Administrator jeep's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2002
    Location
    O.P. KS
    Posts
    5,622
    iTrader
    0
    Real Name
    Brian

    Default Re: Help me understand please!!

    Yeah, unfortunately I agree that this tank is much too small for discus unless it's a breeding pair. How many do you plan on getting? It's suggested 10 gallons or 38 liters per adult discus.

    Your water seems fine. Ph stability is your goal. Since you are new to discus I suggest you watch this video. http://forum.simplydiscus.com/showth...TCH-THIS-VIDEO!

  8. #8
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    5
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Help me understand please!!

    I am aiming to completely understand my water before I start but yes it will be a breeding pair that I purchase for the tank that's why I bought a tank this big

  9. #9
    Registered Member jwcarlson's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2022
    Posts
    81
    iTrader
    0
    Real Name
    Jacob

    Default Re: Help me understand please!!

    Have you kept and bred fish before?

    I'm keeping mine in my tap water, hardness is through the roof like 18+ and 20+ KH and GH. pH out of the tap is 7 and it ages/aerates to 8.2 in 24 hours in the barrel while preheating.

  10. #10
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Jul 2017
    Posts
    5
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Help me understand please!!

    I have kept fish but I have not vred them but that's why I I trying to get as much advice as I can

  11. #11
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Posts
    156
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Help me understand please!!

    Chaz- have you kept discus before? If not, I suppose you could spend 500-600 bucks on a proven breeding pair and see how things go. My fish have paired up in a community tank but I don't use RO water, my calcium content is probably too high for viable eggs and they eat them but I'm also not actively trying to breed discus. Just seems like it would be a tough go and expensive proposition if you don't have the right conditions or know how to care for discus yet.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Cafepress