Dennis Discus     AquaticSuppliers.com

Results 1 to 8 of 8

Thread: Added a third filter to the 75gallon

  1. #1
    Registered Member dagray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Boardman, Oregon
    Posts
    742
    iTrader
    0
    Real Name
    Dave

    Default Added a third filter to the 75gallon

    Years ago I purchased a Fluval FX6 with the intention of having a spray bar for the output.... well I couldn't find a spray bar pre-made, and never got around to making one.

    I found a spray bar the other day made for the FX line of Fluval canister filters and picked one up. Today I added the FX6 to the Fluval 406 and the AquaClear 110.

    I figure doing this gives me a total of 83 gallons of water for the 75 gallon tank and will move enough water to help get rid of nitrates (yes I have plants in the tank for that too.). We made the news for high nitrates in well water in our county... I am on city water, but I have measured nitrates from the tap at 20ppm. I do use Seachem Matrix in my filters as it helps control nitrates.

    The installation was super easy, and the FX6 is super quiet.

    Now waiting for some fish to arrive via UPS.

    Dave
    God is the artist, he merely allows me to see and capture his work . http://davesphotography7055.zenfolio.com/ coupon code: angelfish
    some of my work accepted by Pentax (the camera bodies I use): http://www.pentaxphotogallery.com/artists/davidgray

  2. #2
    Silver Member Charlyc11's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Location
    Jarrettsville, MD
    Posts
    246
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Added a third filter to the 75gallon

    Quote Originally Posted by dagray View Post
    Years ago I purchased a Fluval FX6 with the intention of having a spray bar for the output.... well I couldn't find a spray bar pre-made, and never got around to making one.

    I found a spray bar the other day made for the FX line of Fluval canister filters and picked one up. Today I added the FX6 to the Fluval 406 and the AquaClear 110.

    I figure doing this gives me a total of 83 gallons of water for the 75 gallon tank and will move enough water to help get rid of nitrates (yes I have plants in the tank for that too.). We made the news for high nitrates in well water in our county... I am on city water, but I have measured nitrates from the tap at 20ppm. I do use Seachem Matrix in my filters as it helps control nitrates.

    The installation was super easy, and the FX6 is super quiet.

    Now waiting for some fish to arrive via UPS.

    Dave
    I got the spray bar for mine from a vendor that supports SimplyDiscus forum from Amazon and he gave me a 10 % discount refund in Amazon since I was a member.
    Flow Tamer Spray bars they are awesome.
    Just Call Me Chuck

  3. #3
    Registered Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2021
    Posts
    156
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Added a third filter to the 75gallon

    Quote Originally Posted by Charlyc11 View Post
    I got the spray bar for mine from a vendor that supports SimplyDiscus forum from Amazon and he gave me a 10 % discount refund in Amazon since I was a member.
    Flow Tamer Spray bars they are awesome.
    Seems like a lot of filtration.

  4. #4
    Registered Member bluelagoon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2006
    Location
    Halifax,Canada
    Posts
    2,173
    iTrader
    0
    Real Name
    Mervin

    Default Re: Added a third filter to the 75gallon

    You won't need a FX6 for a 75 gal. One or two 110 AC would do a 75 gal. SeaChem matrix will not remove nitrate. It converts ammonia to nitrite to nitrate. The best way to remove nitrates are though WC's or use RO water. Not sure what if any thing with an iron exchange for nitrate is on the market. The plants will help some but then again with plants come more maintenance especially substrate cleaning. I had a FX6 on a six foot 125 gal, and it was just right for a tank that size.

  5. #5
    Silver Member Willie's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2002
    Location
    Minneapolis
    Posts
    3,758
    iTrader
    2 (100%)
    Real Name
    Willie

    Default Re: Added a third filter to the 75gallon

    Quote Originally Posted by bluelagoon View Post
    ...Not sure what if any thing with an iron exchange for nitrate is on the market...
    Nothing practical.
    At my age, everything is irritating.

  6. #6
    Registered Member dagray's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2013
    Location
    Boardman, Oregon
    Posts
    742
    iTrader
    0
    Real Name
    Dave

    Default Re: Added a third filter to the 75gallon

    I know I am over filtering, but I prefer over filtration. I turned the FX6 to its lowest setting. I also like redundant systems so if I lose a pump on the AC110 or Fluval 406 I still am filtering enough water per hour.
    God is the artist, he merely allows me to see and capture his work . http://davesphotography7055.zenfolio.com/ coupon code: angelfish
    some of my work accepted by Pentax (the camera bodies I use): http://www.pentaxphotogallery.com/artists/davidgray

  7. #7
    Registered Member D'bunk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2021
    Location
    Asia
    Posts
    98
    iTrader
    0

    Default Re: Added a third filter to the 75gallon

    And still the nitrate myth persists.

  8. #8
    Silver Member Iminit's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2020
    Location
    Long island
    Posts
    1,620
    iTrader
    0
    Real Name
    Tom

    Default Re: Added a third filter to the 75gallon

    Yeah I think your way over filtering. Thing with the fx6 is you’ve lowered the output but that doesn’t lower or slow down the speed of the motor. So what you’ve done is reduce the flow leaving the filter which I would think is now adding more stress to the motor. I’ve got the fx6 and it’s not that good anyway. Stopping the flow isn’t going to make it better.
    The thing with matrix is it’s just another media to collect bacteria to complete your cycle. The whole nitrate eating thing only work if you never clean the filter. And it just barely works. But when you do clean the filter all your nitrate eating bacteria dies and has to regrow. Usually about 6 months or when it’s time to clean the filter.

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Cafepress