AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

View Poll Results: Are my juvenile Discus Stunted?

Voters
8. You may not vote on this poll
  • Yes, Stunted

0 0%
  • No, Not Stunted

8 100.00%
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: New Juvenile Discus

Registered Member

Default New Juvenile Discus

Hey all!

I'm new to this forum and look forward to being here . A couple of days ago, I bought my first discus. I got a group of 5 Brilliant Blue/Turquoise Discus from a local breeder. They are 2.5 to 3 inches in size and are said to be 4 months old. I want some insight on feeding frequency, type of food, water change amount/frequency, and water temperature. Additionally, any tips would be appreciated as noted above this is my first time keeping these beautiful fish!

I've attached some images below. Let me know what you all think. They are in a 30 gallon growout/quarantine set up. I am a bit worried that they may be slightly stunted since the eye to body ratio is not amazing, although not sure if this is attributed to their young age and if this is "outgrowable". I would love to upgrade the 5 to my 75 planted and see them grow 6-7 inches in the coming years. Let me know what y'all think! Thanks

Best,
    Ray
    Attached Images Attached Images

Real Name
    Tom

Default Re: New Juvenile Discus

They look fine! Eye to body looks right. Body looks right and round. You did good . Since they are young I’d be changing 50% or more water daily. Feed as often as you can. Feed good foods. What are they eating? Try freeze dried black worms. Can be bought from Al on this site. Vita-bites,sera discus bits,and good flake foods. I’ve got 3” guys now that are just eating the black worms now. 6+ times a day but I add the others just to get them used to them.
    Keep them in the 30 till 4-4.5” than move to the 75 continuing the big water changes. When hitting 5” you can go to every other day. This grow out will take at least 6 more months.

Registered Member