ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: heaters

Registered Member

Default heaters

What is the opinion of folks on this form for the best heaters?
    My ambient temp can run from 74 now to 54 in Jan.
    I have several 75's and 40's and have been using jagers. hard to adjust and
    seem to build up moisture in the tube and seem to die pretty fast.
    Would appreciate any ideas.
    Thank you
    Jay

Default Re: heaters

I like the Aqueon Pro heaters.
    Mama Bear

Real Name
    Tom

Yeah heaters are hit or miss. Yes got to say the aqueon pros are good but the titanium. I put heaters on an ink jet to control them. I’ve been using the finnex HMA heaters for a few years now without a problem. Also been using hygger heaters on my bigger tanks with good results.

Silver Member

Quote Originally Posted by LizStreithorst View Post
    I like the Aqueon Pro heaters.
    +1

Registered Member

Ink bird controllers

Ink jet is a printer

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Roy

Hi @brady

I've tried varieties several over the decades, none with consistent success. For my Discus tank I am using the Hydor ETH inline heater with an Inkbird ITC-306A controller as a backup to prevent heater runaway and to provide notifications of power outages or temperature outside of range. -Roy

2021-09-23 75 Gallon Discus (5) Cropped Adj Sn Sm.jpg

I guess it comes down to how much money you have to spend. Yes, I hear that the Ink Bird rocks, but my hands are in the tanks at least once a day. If I need a heater in a pinch I run to my LPS where they sell me what I buy at their wholesale price. If I didn't have them to save me, I'd keep a spare heater on hand. Even the Aqueon Pro heaters fail eventually. There's no getting around it. All heaters fail. Just some sooner than others.
    Mama Bear

Real Name
    Jacob