ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Discus Not Eating - Newbie Tank Manager

Real Name
    Greg

Default Discus Not Eating - Newbie Tank Manager

Hello,
    I found myself unexpectedly caring for my son's Discus tank 3 months ago. I have some aquarium experience but am a novice and know little about Discus.

My smallest Discus is not eating. He gets excited and comes to the top of the tank with the others when I approach and looks hungry, but when food is surrounding him, he only takes 1-2 bites every couple days that I can tell for about 3-4 weeks now. Everyone else is eating well, as normal.

My LFS said to feed him some live brine shrimp, but he only nibbled on 1 or 2. I have soaked the food in garlic guard a few times with no results. I've only tried the brine shrimp for 2 meals on the same day.

It's hard to tell in the pictures but he looks scrawny. He's not lethargic, he looks fine other than his skinniness. It does look like he's lost weight.
    He's the smallest of the 5 Discus and he does not have to compete for food. I do not see him being bullied and all fish are healthy.

Tank is 55 gallon with Fluval 307 and I feed them probably about 8 different kinds of food, pellets, flakes, frozen, vibra bites...
    In the group of 5 picture below, that was taken a couple months ago when he was fatter. And the Discus on the far right is now bluer.
    We've had all these Discus about 3 years.
    I'm very concerned about where he's headed! Looking for help!
    IMG_5599.JPG IMG_5601.JPG IMG_5602.jpg Nicks Discus Nov 22 tight.jpg

Real Name
    Greg

Default Re: Discus Not Eating - Newbie Tank Manager

He's now hiding in the bottom of the tank behind the wood. Have never seen him do that.
    What about these black specs on his face, are these indicative of anything?

Real Name
    Greg

I meant 60 gallon tank, Not 55.

Real Name
    Tom