AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New Discuss Disease

Registered Member
    Real Name
    Greg

Default New Discuss Disease

Hi All-

I am new the forum and Discus. Introduced myself last week. Al suggested I post about my issues here so I would welcome feedback.

1. Please explain the problems with your fish. When did you notice the problems and did anything unusual happen that you think started them?

I am new to discuss and received fish on 3/16/23. On 3/18 I noticed some Ich on the cardinal tetras. I raised the temp from 84 to 88 and added salt (1tsp per gallon). The Ich cleared up in a day or two and all seemed well.

On 3/23/23 I noticed some white fuzz on the sides of a few of the discus. I began treating with paraguard that day and have continued since then.

2. Symptoms (i.e. turning dark, excess slime, not eating, clamped fins, flashing, darting, clamped gills, white/yellow/green poop, hiding, headstanding or tailstanding, white on tips of fins, rotting or fungus, blisters/white zits on fish, bloated, cloudy eyes, wounds).

White fuzz on sides of discus.

3. What medications/ treatments have you already tried and what were the results. Include dosage and duration of treatment.

Paraguard at recommended dosage of 5ml per 10 gallons. Started 3/23/23 and continue to today.

Tank/Water

4. Tank size and ages, numbers and sizes of fish.

70 gallon rimless tank. Tank and filter are a year old but tank was cleaned out prior to adding discus. Cannister filter is a year old. Added a new cannister filter as well with cycled media.

Stocking as follows:
    New Fish:
    4" Blue Snakeskin
    3" Striated Turquoise
    4" Tiger Blue Panda
    4.5" Leopard Turquoise
    3.5" Red Melon
    3.5" Chekerboard Red Panda
    4" Fine Line Red Panda
    4" Yellow Checkerboard Panda
    4" Yellow Melon
    12 Cardinal Tetras
    12 Rummy Nose

Existing fish:
    3 Corys

5. Water change regime (What percentage and how often).