AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: A true story

Default A true story

A true story but we will not mention any names.

I go on Facebook and this guy posts “Is there a local place that test fish tank water ”.

Now on the post I asked him and I quote:

What are you looking to test? Don't you have an API test kit?

Reply: No never thought to test water. I assumed just fill and move on but with my fish dying I guess this wasn’t the best option

So he gets the typical replies, Petco has testing and others suggest different places.
    Now this is my local town FB group where I live and he is been a member since 2008 so it can hurt to help the guy. So I tell him why you don’t come over the house and I can check your water, I am not an expert but the some of the basics we can go over. He lives very close to me and he doesn’t need to travel half an hour to Petco.
    So he come over with what asked him to bring, some tap and tank water.
    So I ask him how often do you do water changes?

Reply: Never

Do you use water from a water softener?

Reply: Yes

Did you cycle the tank before you put fish in?

Reply: What is a cycle? No I filled the tank and setup the filter and put fish in.

After testing his tap water PH 4.9, KH barely 2, and GH 6 (softener water so mostly sodium)
    Tank water PH 3.2, KH 0 and GH 6
    The strange thing his tank water, ammonia was only .5, nitrites 0 and nitrate was less than 20. I would have expected high ammonia at least. But then again I think he only had one fish left. Low nitrate could be that all the algae he said he has must have consumed it. Then again at a PH of 3.2 if he ever had a cycle it’s dead now. We tested with air stone and the PH started to rise so I know if he ages with air he could be closer to 7
    Send him home with with some pointers but we did cover more than I wrote.

• Get an API Master Fresh water kit.
    • Don’t use softener water for your fish.