ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

Thread: The Diary of the Bathi's Discus Planted Tank

Homesteader
    Real Name
    Bathi

Default The Diary of the Bathi's Discus Planted Tank

Hi, everyone.
    In this thread, I will provide more information on my low-tech Discus tank. I hope this thread will help someone learn something, as I am eager to share all my experiences over the coming weeks. Please refrain from judgment and simply enjoy the journey.

PXL-20231104-131449575-2-2-1.jpg

Chapter 01 - Inspiration

Why Discus ?

As a fish keeper, I have many years of experience with various varieties. Typically, I keep a fish variety for several years, and then I like to move on to another fish variety; otherwise, I start to feel a bit bored. So, I challenge myself and try to keep more challenging fish varieties. That's how I decided to keep Discus. Many people say that if we can keep Rays or Discus, we can handle a wide range of freshwater fish varieties. Additionally, Discus are known for their calm and unique characteristics. I believe every fish keeper would enjoy having Discus in their collection.

Why Planted Tank ?

I am a huge fan of biotopes and planted aquariums. I have gained experience with both high-tech and low-tech planted setups over time. Without a doubt, the natural vibes and green colors help me relax my mind.

Why Planted Discus Tank ?

After I learned the basics of Discus and planted tanks, I wished to blend these two aspects. I am aware that there may be challenges ahead, but I'm eager to gain that experience as well.
    As I went along, I found inspiration from some planted tanks on YouTube. I'll also list the URLs so that others can catch the planted Discus tank enthusiasm, just like I have.

* 1,000 GALLON PLANTED DISCUS AQUARIUM ($$$$)!!
    * My Planted Discus Tank Story - 150 Day Update
    * Wild ROYAL Discus Nature Aquarium of 200x60x70cm at Twinstar EU