AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Quarantine questions

Registered Member

Default Quarantine questions

Ok, I'm not quite sure if this is the right forum for this thread but since I am a beginner in a way... never before done a proper discus quarantine.

I've had my 4 new discus in the 125 l qt tank for a week now. Just getting used to the new water and starting to eat, no medications yet. Basically I want to follow Al's step by step instructions but we have different (much more limited) treatment options available here so I have to do some modifications.

My plan is to start a 3-week course with either Fluke Solve (praziquantel) or Camacell (diflubenzurone 12,5 mg, pyrantel tartrate 341 mg, flubendazole 17,6 mg) or both of them 2 weeks + 1 week and a few days between treatments. How would you do it using these medications?

Then, at the end of the quarantine, I'm still not sure how to go about introducing the new fish into the main tank. I've read some people are using what they call a vaccination method, where I think instead of using the hero fish (?) they sloooowly mix the two tanks' water to get the fishes' immune systems used to each other's bacteria. Beginning with only one droplet at a time and increasing the volume until the water in both tanks is basically the same. But the timeline, volume and frequency of mixing the water is unclear to me and I haven't got any answers by asking elsewhere so... is anyone here familiar with this method? pros and cons compared to the 'hero fish' method? Am I missing or confusing something here?

My reason for hesitating with adding a 'hero fish' into the quarantine tank is simply that I don't have a "cull" or a least favourite fish. I don't want to risk any of the older discus if not absolutely necessary. I don't suppose another fish, like a tetra, from the main tank could be used instead...?

Administrator and MVP Dec.2015 Second Hand Pat's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pat