AquaticSuppliers.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Please help me save my lil buddy

Registered Member

Default Please help me save my lil buddy

Hello fellow discus keepers,

Hope you are doing well.

Briefly, to talk about myself: It's Lennie. I have been keeping fish for over 15 years. I have a fishroom with 25 tanks. I would call myself experienced in the hobby, but sadly the stuff I have been through with the discus pair I got, caused me to face some issues that I have never *luckily* experienced before.

I am very lost about the situation and I need some help from you guys.

About my fish: I got me a confirmed pair of discus last year. 60x60x50cmh / 180 Liter tank for these two, named Marshall and Lily. Many sources and the guy I got them from kept recommending me to keeping them on a bare bottom tank with a light white background. I set the tank up this way but I have never enjoyed barebottom tanks so I quickly ended up turning it into a planted tank. The pair was constantly fed with frozen brine shrimp, beefheart and bloodworms by their previous owner. So they were extremely picky for everything else served, including live worms.

I've tried A LOT of stuff. Around 7 commercial foods with granules and flake options, FD/frozen foods, live white worms/earthworms and many more. They have always been bad at accepting any sort of food, even the ones that they are extremely picky about eating. Inactive, never looked happy and healthy.

Both of my discus had gill issues and they have been getting worse every day. I kept them mainly at 28C which was the temp the previous owner was keeping them at. I've tried different parameters from 6.0 ph very soft water to 7.5 medium hard water. Temp between 28C to 31C. Just hoped to see any positive outcome.