AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lotus flower!

Real Name
    Jacob

Default Re: Lotus flower!

That's awesome! I have never had a flower, but I have a couple of decent lotus in my aquariums. One of them went gang-busters sometime ago and sent out like 10 babies. I'm not good at growing plants though so I'm constantly trimming back melting leaves because I neglect to put root tabs in.

Registered Member

It's the first one for me too. Wish I knew what triggered the flowering so I could do it again. It's springtime so maybe it's just that. Or the new liquid ferts I've added very carefully over the past 3 weeks or so (also gave me a little cyanobacteria invasion but looks like that's going away now). Or the new 'plant' spotlight I got. Anyway it's very cool, and before I googled it I was confused why the flower was in full bloom in the morning when it was still dark and soon closed its petals when I turned on the lights... apparently they bloom at night!

Real Name
    Aaron

That's great! Years ago i had one bloom in an outdoor goldfish pond but never got one to bloom in an aquarium. Congratulations and thank you for sharing it with us!

Registered Member

Thank you! Of course I'm sharing it, this community has been such a great support when having problems or questions but positive surprises deserve to be shared too

It is way cool as well as exquisit. Thanks for sharing.

You have an excellent instincts for plants, and style. Plus, you're a fast learner for a Discus newbie.
    Mama Bear

I have never had my bloom.. but I have one potted one thats been awesome so far..maybe one day it will bloom.

Congratulations!
    Al
    AquaticSuppliers.comFoods your Discus will Love!!!

>>>>>I am a science guy.. show me the science minus the BS

Al Sabetta
    Simplydiscus LLC Owner
    Aquaticsuppliers.com

I take Pics.. click here for my Flickr images

Administrator and MVP Dec.2015 Second Hand Pat's Avatar
    Real Name
    Pat