ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Beef Heart or Black Worms Exp.

Default Beef Heart or Black Worms Exp.

* In July I plan to raise 20 discus of same size in two different tanks, 10 in a 75 gal. tank. The only difference in the diet will be the main course. B/H in one and worms in another. They will get frozen blood worms and flake food-Formual-1. Same daily w/c's and so on.
    *If there is enough interest in this experiment then I will do it.

* Thank You
    * Miles

Default Re: Beef Heart or Black Worms Exp.

Good Deal Miles!
    I bet the ones on Blk grow bigger and faster! anybody?

Cary,

You can only vote ONCE!!

Mat

Registered Member

Great Idea Miles,

As a scientist myself I applaud your effort to enlighten by doing a good experiment!

One word of caution though--ask the breeder (or whatever your source of the fish is) to try to pick out 20 small fish which are very similar in size to start.  Just a couple (or worst of all an odd number) of slightly larger or smaller fish could make it difficult to analyze the results later.    You will get the clearest results that way.

Also you might want to get a little scale to weigh your food in (or at least the blackworms and beefheart).  This can help take away any bias (concious or unconcious) you might develop toward one tank or another--if you always feed each tank the same weight of food (which obviously will increase over time).   Along the same lines--make sure you siphon any left over blackworms just as you siphon any leftover beefheart.

Lastly make sure the tanks are placed in close proximity so that one tank doesn't have any structural advantages that make the fish more skittish or causes you to clean algae in it more often.

Go For It Miles!

Pat

Go Mile GO! ;D
    Interesting experiment

Keep us posted. Do we get pics too??

Ardan :sunshine:

Registered Member