ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Color Feeding

Registered Member Carol_Roberts's Avatar

Default Color Feeding

These two pictures will illustrate how feeding axastanthin (sp?) can bring out the red in your discus.

This first shot is a recent picture of a pb male fed only cbw, ONF 1 flake and color bits.
    CArol

Default Re:Color Feeding

Old shot, same fish color fed. See all the red?
    CArol

Registered Member

nice wall paper!!lol
    oh and fish.
    Ivan

Carol_Roberts I was wondering where did you get the axastanthin and how did you administer it in your feeding. I'm new to axastanthin so I'm totally clueless.... BTW very nice vibrant colors in the pixs... also the wallpaper

Thanks.

A-

Registered Member

Spirulina is a good source, add 1 to 2 table spoons per 2lb of beef heart.HTH

I got it from Ray at Discus Hawaii. It's a red powder you mix in food like beefheart. I don't feed beefheart anymore. I have nothing against colorfeeding. I just like how clean my tanks stay feeding cbw instead of beefheart.

CArol

Registered Member

Does paparika have the same effect as astaxanthan ? Carrol what do mix yours in if you don't use beef heart any more?
    DebO

Paprika has some effect, but not as much as axastanthin. I don't feed it anymore.

The ONF1 flake and tetra bits I do feed have a little red. All my fish just have their natural colors right now.

Carol

Ever tried mixing a bit of the color enhancing powder in your worm water?

Registered Member

Yeah then maybe you could have California red worms! ;D Frank

HEY!! I'm trying to ask a scientific question here. Serious replies only, worm water is important to me. (Ten buck says you'll try it Frank, LOL!!!) Bill