AquaticSuppliers.com     Cafepress Store

Thread: Heater..

Real Name
    Matt

Default Heater..

Ok once i finally get my discus and get settled.......i'll stop asking questions, and get more involved in the forum, chatting and do something other than ask questions.

But for now i am just a newbie and need more help.....

What type of heater do you all prefer?

My Tank: 55gal BB, AC500 (2 sponges), pH 7.0, Temp - (when i get a heater)

Thank you!..........Again :

Registered Member Carol_Roberts's Avatar

Default Re:Heater..

There is no concensus on heaters. I have 250 or 300 watt heaters in that size tank. Other recommend two smaller heater - say two 150's.

I have had luck with tronic, Ebo Jagers, and Won brothers Pro Heat.

Real Name
    Matt

Thanks Carol. 8)

Go with Tronic or ebo jagers

I personally like the titanium pro heat heater. You don't have to put your hand in the tank when you need to adjust temp. And they seem to hold up better to our mistakes like forgetting to unplug it when the water level drops below the minimum water level during a water change ect.

Registered Member

The first thing that you need to consider is what the lowest temperture will ever be in the room you keep your fish.
    Unless you live in the North Pole, forget about 250 and 300 watt heaters. One heater malfuntion with that type of wattage would mean you'll be having poached Discus for dinner. A 300 watt heater could raise the temperature in a 55 gallon tank 20 degrees an hour.
    I prefer heaters that will allow me to adjust the temperature without having to reach into the water to do it. If your tank is about 18 inches deep, be sure to get a heater with a 15 inch tube or a submergable heater. A 12" non-submergable heater would most likely crack when you do a 50% water change.