ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 10 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Saying "Hi" w/planted tank pics - Kahuna's Revenge

Default Saying "Hi" w/planted tank pics - Kahuna's Revenge - new pics :-)

Hi folks. Just wanted to introduce myself, say "Hi", and say "Thanks!" for the TONNES of help I've already gotten from this board, even though I'm a discus newb and have barely posted here. I'm not much of a fish keeper either. I started messing around with planted tanks a little over 2 1/2 years ago, and have had a few of them since then. Some successful. Some outrageously unsuccessful. Learning can be painful. But the entire time I've lusted over the prospect of someday being mature enough in the planted tanks craft to actually have a planted discus tank!

I call my most recent planted tank "Kahuna's Revenge". It's a kind of a inside joke over at PlantedTank.net where I hang out. It's a 75g that I built myself, reasonably high tech for a planted freshwater tank. It's about 3 months old, and has had my very first discus in it for just under a month now.

I cannot express how excited I was about getting discus! And scared. I've read the horror stories. Having a decent planted tank is hard enough, but having a decent planted tank with discus was downright scary. But discus are sooo beautiful, with such interesting personalities. It was inevitable.