ChicagoDiscus.com     Cafepress Store

Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Heckels?

Registered Member

Smile Heckels?

Okay I hope I dont seem stupid here but I am new to discus so new I dont have any yet but am working on it. my question is are Heckels just a breed of Wilds and Blues, Greens Etc. are also a type of Wilds. I am asking because it seems here that I am reading that Heckels seem a little tricky to take care. Most comments seem that they hide alot or are all Wilds this way. Thanks I hope I made my self clear Ed

Default Re: Heckels?

Heckels are the "original", first named and discovered species of discus found primarily in the Rio Negro, a special blackwater environment. They are all wild. caught and not bred often in captivity because they are harder to spawn.

Heckels are somewhat more shy than the other wild type discus but they do become tame after a period of acclimation and good health.

There are several things about them that sets them apart from the other wild discus. Check through the threads so far to get an idea about why some of us are trying to figure out what it is that might help us figure out what it is going to take to breed them. They are thought to be the evolutionary source of all other wild discus at this time.

I would add that does not imply they are a more "primitive" species. They have merely continued their evolution to fill the unique environments in which they occur.

They have less in common with domestics than the other wild discus because they haven't been bred as much and rarely but occassionally have bred with other discus. Those lines have invariably fizzled out at most by the F4 gen.
    Larry Waybright
    Last edited by Apistomaster; 02-24-2007 at 08:45 PM. Reason: accuracy

Registered Member

thank you ed

Banned

Smile Re: Heckels?