ChicagoDiscus.com     Golden State Discus

Thread: Help with my new lights please!

Registered Member

Default Help with my new lights please!

Just received my Nova Extreme T5 HO lights. They came with 2 10000K Daylights and 2 460nm Actinics. Also has a lunar light. Let me guess, these aren't the bulbs I need right?!! I can't afford to spend anymore right now but if you could tell me what my lighting cycles should be it would be a great help. There are seperate switches for the 10Ks and 460 so should they all be on at once or vary them and do the lunar lights do anything for me? All I'm growing is sword plants without co2 at this point. What bulbs should I get down the road? Will these bulbs get me by for now?

Registered Member

Default Re: Help with my new lights please!

I'm no expert, but I would run the 10K bulbs

I would buy a couple of algae scrapers ! JK my friend. But really ...LOL someone with hands on experience will help out.

Real Name
    Walter

The 10K will work fine. Not sure you would need the lunar. You can use the actinic, but from what I've read and been told, they won't be as useful (in terms of plant growth) as daylight lamps.
    Walter

Registered Member

The 10k's are okay. I would see if where you purchased it from will let you swap the actinic for 6700K's. The combo of the 6700 K and 10K will give you the best balance of light color wise IMO. Lunar lights are for viewing at night and are a nice touch. You should also get some ripple action on the floor of your aquarium from them.

What wattage are the t5's and what size tank?
    How planted are you? Are you dosing ferts and are you supplying CO2?

Those questions will help set you up with a light schedule.

4 x 39wa @~80lumen per watt=156watt, 12480 lu
    ~300 par per bulb not bad either